Celebrating 30 Years of Local Governance Innovations: Galing Pook recognizes winners of the Galing Pook Awards and Citizenship Awards
Oct. 12, 2023

The Galing Pook Foundation, in partnership with the Department of the Interior and Local Government - Local Government Academy and SM Prime Holdings, Inc. recognized ten outstanding local governance programs of 2023 on Thursday, October 12, 2023 at One Esplanade in Pasay City.

Galing Pook Chairperson Mel Sarmiento looked back on the three decades of the Galing Pook Awards, “This is a special year for the Galing Pook Foundation as we celebrate 30 years since it was launched in October 1993. Today, we celebrate the three rich and impressive decades of adaptive innovations and good local governance. This year’s theme is “Leveling Up Local Governance Innovations Towards Building Resilient Communities.” This captures the profound journey of progress we have undertaken, showcasing the enduring dedication of the many individuals and institutions who are committed to improving the way we serve our communities.” 

The ten winners of the 2023 Galing Pook Awards are:

  1. Bataan Province: 1Bataan Seal of Healthy Barangay
  2. Bayawan City, Negros Oriental: Fish from the Mountains: Bayawan Inland Aquaculture
  3. Davao Oriental Province: Happy Home: Integrated and Holistic Rebel Reintegration Program
  4. Del Carmen, Surigao del Norte: Seal of Health Governance: Local Health Leadership Approach as Response from Pandemic to Super Typhoon "Odette"
  5. General Santos City: Shari’a Atas Bitiara: The Comprehensive and Balanced Conflict Resolution Mechanism for Muslims
  6. Iloilo Province: Zero to Limpyo Iloilo: Movement for a Province-wide ZOD
  7. Makati City: Virtual Queuing Management System: An Online Platform for Queuing and Appointments for Health Centers
  8. Pasig City: Pasig City Prehospital Care and Emergency Medical Services Medical Control Program
  9. Quezon City: iRISE UP (Intelligent, Resilient, and Integrated Systems for the Urban Population)
  10. Barangay Taloot, Argao, Cebu: Barangay Taloot Community-Based Integrated Approach

Galing Pook also recognized citizens organizations that have been outstanding models for effective, sustainable and strategic implementation of development-oriented programs through the 2023 Galing Pook Citizenship Awards:

The 2023 Galing Pook Citizenship Awardees are:

  1. Espoir School of Life
  2. Health Futures Foundation, Inc.
  3. Lamac Multi-purpose Cooperative
  4. Negrense Volunteers for Change (NVC) Foundation
  5. Ramon Aboitiz Foundation, Inc. (RAFI)

The 2023 Citizenship Awards is supported by the Department of Health, the Australian Government, Oxfam Pilipinas, Agrea Philippines and ISEA.

Chairperson Sarmiento concluded, “Today, we have champions of the Galing Pook Awards from the past years among us. Your work continues to inspire us and allows us to reach greater heights. We invite our partners to join us in promoting local innovations so that we could create a larger impact and transform our Philippine society to become more inclusive, equitable, resilient and sustainable.”