Finalists Unveiled for the 2023 Galing Pook Awards: Spotlight on Leveling Up Local Governance Innovations Towards Building Resilient Communities
Sept. 20, 2023

The Galing Pook Foundation, in partnership with the Department of the Interior and Local Government - Local Government Academy and SM Prime Holdings, Inc. is thrilled to announce the 17 exceptional finalists for the 2023 Galing Pook Awards, celebrating three decades of recognizing innovative local governance programs.

From a pool of 166 entries submitted by local government units (LGUs) nationwide, these finalists have demonstrated remarkable dedication in "Leveling Up Local Governance Innovations Towards Building Resilient Communities."

"The dominant themes of the 2023 Galing Pook Awards—Agriculture, Food Security, Environment, Climate Change Adaptation, Health, and Social Welfare—demonstrate the enduring spirit of innovation and community-driven solutions. These programs, shaped by the pressing challenges of our era, such as climate change and pandemic recovery, showcase the remarkable evolution and resilience of local governance over 30 years, symbolizing our unwavering dedication to building a more sustainable and resilient future,” says Galing Pook Chairperson Mel Senen Sarmiento.

The 17 finalists for the 2023 Galing Pook Awards are:

  1. Bago City, Negros Occidental: "Reviving the Majestic Diversity of Bago Watershed" (Ridge to Reef Environmental Management/ Integrated Ecosystem Management Approach)
  2. Barangay Taloot, Argao, Cebu: Barangay Taloot Community-Based Integrated Approach
  3. Bataan Province: 1Bataan Seal of Healthy Barangay
  4. Bayawan City, Negros Oriental: Fish From The Mountains: Bayawan Inland Aquaculture
  5. Cavite Province: LINKod Beyond Bars: An ICT-based Social Inclusion Program of Cavite Provincial Jail
  6. Davao Oriental Province: Happy Home
  7. Del Carmen, Surigao del Norte: Seal of Health Governance: Local Health Leadership Approach as Response from Pandemic to Super Typhoon "Odette"
  8. General Santos City: Shari’a Atas Bitiara
  9. Iloilo City: Iloilo City Sports Academy (ICSA): A Grassroots Sports Program for the Ilonggo Youth
  10. Iloilo Province: Mobilizing Communities through People-Centered Zero Open Defecation Movement Towards Sustainable Sanitation in the Province of Iloilo
  11. Ligao City, Albay: Integrated Coastal Resource Management Program
  12. Makati City: Virtual Queuing Management Syste
  13. Mexico, Pampanga: Sustaining an LGU-Funded Community Hospital with a Hemodialysis Center [The Experience of Mexico, Pampanga after the 1991 Devolution]
  14. Ormoc City, Leyte: Saving Kan: A Love Story in Ormoc Bay (Marine Mammal and Reptile Rehabilitation Center)
  15. Pasig City: Pasig City Prehospital Care and Emergency Medical Services Medical Control Program
  16. Quezon City: iRISE UP (Intelligent, Resilient, and Integrated Systems for the Urban Population)
  17. Quezon City: Quezon City Birth Registration Online (QC BRO): Online Birth Registration Portal of the Quezon City Civil Registry Department

"This year's Galing Pook Awards is not just about recognizing excellence; it is also about constantly finding new ways of approaching the challenges we face and moving towards progress and transformation through effective local governance. We are proud to say that each year, more LGUs take on the challenge to build smarter, safer, more sustainable, and disaster-resilient communities,” shares Chairperson Sarmiento. “We look forward to honoring these remarkable initiatives that have made a significant difference in our communities,” he adds.

The final panel presentation and interview will take place on October 11, 2023, where the finalists will have the opportunity to showcase the impact of their programs. DILG Secretary Benhur Abalos will serve as the esteemed chairperson of the 2023 Galing Pook Awards final board of judges. SILG Abalos, previously received Galing Pook Awards during his tenure as Mayor of Mandaluyong City for visionary projects such as the Garden of Life Park and the Project Therapy, Education, and Assimilation of Children with Handicap (TEACH). Other members of the board include distinguished individuals from the business, civil society, media, academe and public sector. 

The awarding ceremony will follow on October 12, 2023 to recognize the ten outstanding local governance programs

2023 GPA FINALISTS by Karol Di

Press Release-2023 Galing Pook Awards Finalists