The Galing Pook Awards
About the Award
The Galing Pook Awards was launched in October 21, 1993 as a pioneering program that searches and recognizes innovative practices by local government units. LGU finalists with outstanding initiatives are carefully selected and winners are recognized in a very prestigious awarding ceremony.
The awardees of the Galing Pook are chosen from a national search of local governance programs, evaluated through a multilevel rigorous screening process based on positive results and impact, promotion of people’s participation and empowerment, innovation and adaptation, resilience, sustainability, and efficiency of program service delivery and transferability.
Beyond the awards, winning programs become models of good governance promoted for adoption in other communities. They provide useful insights and strategies to find innovative solutions to common problems. More importantly, they affirm the community and the local government’s commitment to good governance.
Since 1993, more than 330 programs from at least 200 local governments/local government alliances were awarded the Galing Pook. These awardees become very important advocates in inspiring other local governments to introduce innovative practices and provide a fertile environment for the replication of successful reforms.
Eligibility Criteria
For your program to be considered for the Galing Pook Awards, it must meet the following minimum requirements:
  • It must have involved or engaged processes within a local government unit (barangay, municipality, city, or province) even if the program might have been initiated (either independently or jointly) by an NGO, CSO and/or an LGU.
  • It must have been in operation for at least one (1) year before the deadline of submission.
  • It must have verifiable and significant results.
Selection Criteria
Positive Results and Impact 25%
Promotion of People’s Participation and Empowerment 25%
Innovation and Adaptation 20%
Resilience 10%
Sustainability 10%
Efficiency of Program Service Delivery and Transferability 10%
TOTAL 100%

Galing Pook Awards 2023 application kit

View DILG Memorandum Circular 2023-044 on the 2023 Galing Pook Awards here.

Building safe, smart, and sustainable communities
Back to top